U.S. Environmental Regulations

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA)

How EPA is Organized

The US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is an independent agency of the executive branch of the United States Government. EPA was established in 1970 by executive order of the President. EPA is headed by an Administrator who reports directly to the President.

The main organizational units within EPA are headquarters offices and regional offices.  The 10 EPA regional offices provide oversight for federal environmental programs delegated to states as well as directly administering certain programs. Headquarters offices manage specific national environmental programs and provide support services, such as research, policy analysis, and administration.

Authority for EPA-administered programs is provided by several statutes that have been passed by Congress and signed by the President. The following is a listing of EPA’s headquarters offices and the major statutory programs they implement.

Related topics in

Program office links:
EPA Homepage
Office of Air and Radiation - The Clean Air Act, as amended
Office of Water - The Clean Water Act, as amended and The Safe Drinking Water Act, as amended.
Office of Solid Waste and Emergency Response - The Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, as amended; and The Comprehensive Emergency Response, Compensation, and Liability Act, as amended; and The Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act, as amended.
Office of Prevention, Pesticides, and Toxic Substances - The Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act, as amended; The Toxic Substances Control Act, as amended; and The Pollution Prevention Act, as amended.


Related sites:
About EPA
EPA Organizational Structure
EPA Headquarters offices
EPA Regional offices


Upcoming Events