EPA Announces Winners of 2010 Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Awards


Source: SOCMA
Related Topics: Environmental Recognition Awards Green Chemistry US Environmental Protection Agency

EPA is pleased to announce the winners of the 2010 Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Awards.  The awards winners are listed below, along with links to background information about each winning technology.

The 15th Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Awards ceremony is being held this evening in the Atrium Hall of the Ronald Reagan Building in Washington, D.C., beginning at 5:30 p.m.  EPA Administrator Lisa Jackson will speak at the ceremony.

If you have any questions about the Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Awards, please contact Richard Engler by telephone at (202) 564-8587, or by Email at ; or Carol Farris by telephone at (202) 564-8554, or by Email at

2010 Award Recipients

Greener Synthetic Pathways Award

  • The Dow Chemical Company
  • BASF
  • Innovative, Environmentally Benign Production of Propylene Oxide via Hydrogen Peroxide (summary / podcast)

Greener Reaction Conditions Award

  • Merck & Co., Inc.
  • Codexis, Inc.
  • Greener Manufacturing of Sitagliptin Enabled by an Evolved Transaminase (summary / podcast)

Designing Greener Chemicals Award

  • Clarke
  • NatularTM Larvicide: Adapting Spinosad for Next-Generation Mosquito Control (summary / podcast)

Small Business Award

  • LS9, Inc.
  • Microbial Production of Renewable PetroleumTM Fuels and Chemicals (summary / podcast)

Academic Award

  • James C. Liao, Ph.D.
  • Easel Biotechnologies, LLC
  • University of California, Los Angeles
  • Recycling Carbon Dioxide to Biosynthesize Higher Alcohols
    (summary / podcast)

Upcoming Events